6 Şubat 2013 Çarşamba

Rams not hiring Rob Ryan

To contact us Click HERE
USAToday
The Rob Ryan Era at Rams Park has cometo an abrupt end almost as puzzling as the idea of hiring him asdefensive coordinator here in the first place. After Ryaninterviewed a second time with the Rams on Monday, the team decidedtoday they would not hire him as DC after all, with Jeff Fisher’sexplanation, “It wasn’t a scheme fit.”
Well, duh. But it didn’t take twointerviews to figure out Ryan, a career 3-4 coach, wasn’t a fit forthe Rams’ 4-3 defensive scheme; something else must have been up.Adam Schefter has reported that the Rams had a contract agreementwith Ryan, (which justifies media reports that the team was on itsway to hiring him) but that Ryan never signed it.
That makes me think Ryan either founda situation he likes better, or ultimately decided the Rams job was ano-win proposition for him. Could be the pay wasn’t quite right,could be he found a 3-4 team he’s better-suited to, could be,assuming he’s staying a DC, he found a team where he’ll have morefreedom to run the defense than he might have had under Fisher. 
That last thoughtis my guess as to where things actually broke down between Ryan andFisher. I don’t know how Fisher used to run things in Tennessee,but he had a firm hand in the defense here this past season, and ifhe was pulling it out any time soon, it wouldn’t have been by much.The Rams don’t need two strong-willed coaches fighting over how tocall the defense.

Rob Ryan didn’tget hired because he wasn’t a scheme fit, he didn’t get hiredbecause he wasn’t an ego fit. Ego is not necessarily a bad qualityfor a coach to have, but clashing egos are bad for a coaching staff.The Rams will ultimately be better off for not having made this move,and if Ryan’s landing somewhere else like I’m guessing, he may bebetter off for it, too.

The Rams have, however, officially hired Frank Bush as their new linebackers coach.

Postscript: my initial thoughts have been essentially confirmed by Pro Football Talk and by Bernie Miklasz. Sounds like Ryan was going to push for the Rams to switch to 3-4, and that's not happening.

-$-

Hiç yorum yok:

Yorum Gönder